Authority Members


At the time of the Annual Meetings of each of the five District Councils in May/June of each year, appointments are made to the Authority. Districts have the discretion to re-appoint existing Members or to replace them with other Members, subject to statutory requirements for political balance.

Appointments are also subject to the fulfilment of statutory notification periods, which in some circumstances require a notice of one month to be served prior to appointment yet in other circumstances allow for immediate appointment. Should, for whatever reason, an elected Member cease to be a Member of the District Council which appointed them, they automatically cease to be a Member of the Authority and it is for the District to nominate a replacement.

Once appointed each Member has a responsibility to the public of Merseyside as a whole and not just to the district from which they have been nominated.

Political Composition

Of the 18 elected Members of the Authority, fifteen are Labour, two are Liberal Democrats and one is Conservative.

The Local Government and Housing Act 1989 provides for the division of Members into political groups where appropriate notification is submitted to the Clerk. Not all of the seats on a Committee may be allocated to one Group and if one Group has a majority of the membership of the Authority, then that Group must have a majority of Members on each Committee.

Photograph Councillor Political party District
photo of Cllr Del Arnall

Cllr Del Arnall

photo of Cllr Dan Barrington

Cllr Dan Barrington

photo of Cllr Bruce Berry

Cllr Bruce Berry

photo of Cllr Leslie T. Byrom CBE

Cllr Leslie T. Byrom CBE

Chair of the Authority

14 Belvedere Road, Southport, PR8 2PA

Home: 01704574859

Home mobile: 07836621059


Labour Sefton Council
photo of Cllr Angela Coleman

Cllr Angela Coleman

photo of Cllr Janet Grace

Cllr Janet Grace

Lead Member People

32 Whitham Avenue, Crosby, L23 0RD

Work: 0151 474 9931


Labour Sefton Council
photo of Cllr Brian Kenny

Cllr Brian Kenny

Vice-Chair of the Authority

6 The Pier, Water's Edge Apartments, Tower Promenade, Wallasey, CH45 2PP

Work: 0151 538 5488


Labour Wirral
photo of Cllr Doreen Knight

Cllr Doreen Knight

photo of Cllr Andrew Makinson

Cllr Andrew Makinson

Opposition Spokesperson

35 Mapledale Road, Liverpool, L18 5JE


Liberal Democrats Liverpool City Council
photo of Cllr Linda Maloney

Cllr Linda Maloney

8 Jubilee Crescent, Haydock, St Helens, WA11 0LR

Home mobile: 07870630722


Labour St Helens MBC
photo of Cllr Steff O'Keeffe

Cllr Steff O'Keeffe

Chair of Audit Committee

Labour Knowsley
photo of Cllr Lisa Preston

Cllr Lisa Preston

Labour St Helens MBC
photo of Cllr Lesley Rennie

Cllr Lesley Rennie

Opposition Spokesperson

4 Greenlea Close, Bebington, Wirral, CH63 7RU

Home: 01516448137

Home mobile: 07795450497


Conservative Wirral
photo of Cllr James Roberts

Cllr James Roberts

Vice-Chair of the Authority

Labour Group Office, Municipal Buildings, Dale Street, Liverpool, L2 2DH

Work: 0151 225 2366


Labour Liverpool City Council
photo of Cllr Emily Spurrell

Cllr Emily Spurrell

photo of Cllr Jean Stapleton

Cllr Jean Stapleton

Chair of Member Development & Engagement Group

85 Grange Road West, Birkenhead, Wirral, CH43 4XB

Home: 0151 201 5057


Labour Wirral
photo of Cllr Lynne Thompson

Cllr Lynne Thompson

34 Oakwood Drive, Ainsdale, Southport, PR8 3HZ

Home mobile: 07955 803814



Liberal Democrats Sefton Council
photo of Cllr Paul Tweed

Cllr Paul Tweed

Lead Member Operational Preparedness

37 York Close, Netherton, Bootle, L30 7QP

Home: 0151 476 4834


Labour Sefton Council